Tom Jenkins was appointed Fire Chief for the City of Rogers in 2009. In his capacity he is responsible for over 150 career employees in ten locations. Under Tom’s leadership, the Rogers Fire Department has become accredited by the Center for Public Safety Excellence (since 2011), Commission on Accreditation of Ambulance Services (since 2012) and was awarded an Insurance Service Officer Public Protection Classification of one in 2015.

Chief Jenkins has served on several state commissions and panels, including the Trauma Advisory Council, Firefighter Benefit Review Panel and the Safe Schools Commission. Chief Jenkins has served as an adjunct professor for Drury University, Northwest Arkansas Community College and Oklahoma State University, teaching topics that range from leadership and administration to fire hydraulics and suppression tactics. In 2015, Chief Jenkins was elected to serve on the Board of Directors for the International Association of Fire Chiefs as the Second Vice President. In 2017, he was elected President and Chairman of the Board for the IAFC at Fire Rescue International in Charlotte, North Carolina. He continues to serve the IAFC as member and chairman of the Past President’s Council and co-host of the IAFC’s podcast series.

In addition to public service, Tom is a recognizable face at many fire and emergency medical conferences where he speaks and presents regularly. Chief Jenkins completed his Master’s in Public Administration from the University of Oklahoma and obtained his Bachelor’s degree in Fire Protection and Safety Engineering Technology from Oklahoma State University. He has completed the Executive Fire Officer Program at the National Fire Academy and is a designated Chief Fire Officer and Chief Emergency Medical Services Officer from the Commission on Public Credentialing. He currently serves on multiple boards and advisory committees, including the: NFPA Standard on Organization and Deployment of Career Fire Departments Standard 1710, International Fire Service Training Association Executive Board, National Fallen Firefighters Foundation and the PulsePoint Foundation.